Skip to content
← Models
ClosedOpenAI/10 trustVerified

GPT-Realtime-2.1

OpenAI's latest Realtime API model — better silence handling, noise robustness, and interruption behavior.

Visit official page →

About

GPT-Realtime-2.1 is OpenAI's newer-generation Realtime API model, listed in OpenAI's model catalog by October 2026. It improves on the original gpt-realtime (now deprecated) in silence handling, noise robustness, and interruption behavior for turn-based voice agents.

It sits in the Realtime API family alongside GPT-Live-1: where GPT-Live-1 is the full-duplex voice layer with a delegated backend, GPT-Realtime-2.1 is the conversational realtime model evaluated head-to-head on the same speech benchmarks. OpenAI recommends marin and cedar among built-in voices for overall quality, and documents custom voice creation for eligible API customers.

In Artificial Analysis's Big Bench Audio run cited by xAI, GPT-Realtime-2.1 (High) averaged $0.055 cost per task, against $0.025 for Grok Voice 3.0 and $0.030 for GPT-Live-1 (Astra, Medium).

Specs

Context window

not publicly disclosed

Pricing

Realtime API usage-based pricing (see OpenAI pricing); exact per-minute rate not isolated in research

Free quota

none published

API access

OpenAI Realtime API

Weights

Closed — API only

Released

Not disclosed

Benchmarks

Independent (Artificial Analysis Big Bench Audio, cited Oct 2026): $0.055 avg cost per task at High setting vs $0.025 Grok Voice 3.0, $0.030 GPT-Live-1 (Astra, Medium). Provider-reported: improved silence handling, noise robustness, and interruption behavior vs original gpt-realtime.

Provider-reported unless a source says otherwise. Benchmarks are marketing-adjacent by nature — treat them as directional.

Use cases

voice-agentsrealtime-audiocustomer-supporttelephony

Trust score — 7/10

/10 trustVerified

Existence and positioning (OpenAI Realtime API model; improves silence handling, noise robustness, interruption vs deprecated original gpt-realtime; listed in OpenAI's catalog by October 2026) corroborated by the OpenAI developer community summary of official announcements and independent voice-agent coverage. Docked for: (1) release date not pinned down in research, so releasedAt is left null; (2) capability claims come via community writeup of OpenAI docs rather than a dedicated launch announcement; (3) proprietary with no weights.

How the trust score is built

Full methodology →
Adoption · stars/downloads, log-scaled vs peers
6.0/10
Maintenance · recency, releases, issue load
9.0/10
Openness · license + docs
2.0/10
Manual review · sanity read + red-flag check
7.0/10
  • · Adoption 6: OpenAI Realtime API model; supersedes deprecated gpt-realtime
  • · Maintenance 9: listed in OpenAI catalog by Oct 2026
  • · Openness 2: proprietary, no weights
  • · Manual 7: existence and positioning corroborated by developer-community summary of official announcements and independent voice coverage; docked for unpinned release date (releasedAt null), no dedicated launch announcement, closed weights

More in the gpt-realtime family

Sources